CSA Week 1 (Holy Lettuce Leaf Batman!)

CSA Week 1

When, in the description of this blog, I joked about having to figure out how to use 12 lettuces in one week I thought, at most, we’d get two, maybe three lettuces or greens in one week.  The first week of our CSA proved me wrong as seven of the nine items consisted of lettuces or greens.  The first week included: mizuna, kale, collard greens, green leaf lettuce, red leaf lettuce, romaine, spinach, garlic scapes and strawberries.  I knew I would have to dig deep to come up with a pizza idea that would use more than one of these ingredients.  The first pizza from CSA week one was:

THE GREEN GODDESS PIZZA

A note about the crust on this pizza.  While I used my basic pizza crust recipe, which usually produces a crust with decent oven spring (i.e., puffiness), this crust only fermented in the fridge for two days, so I don’t think that it fermented long enough to allow the gases in the dough to develop.

Ingredients

  • Basic pizza crust
  • Garlic scape pesto
  • Fresh mozzarella, chopped or torn into roughly two centimeter cubes/pieces
  • Grated parmigiano reggiano or grana padano (I prefer the slightly sweeter flavor and kick of grana padano)
  • Goat cheese
  • Kale, chopped into potato chip-sized pieces and tossed with liberal amounts of extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt to taste

Directions

  • Place a pizza stone (I use a fibrament stone) on the lowest rack of your oven (you may have to experiment a bit to find the best setup for your oven, as different ovens have different hot spots).
  • Preheat the oven to 550 degrees, or to the hottest possible temperature for at least one hour.
  • Take the pizza dough out of the fridge one-two hours before you want to bake the pie.
  • While the oven is preheating and the dough is coming to room temperature, prepare the rest of the ingredients.
  • Carefully remove the room temperature dough to a floured work surface.
  • Put some flour on the dough and rub it around so that the dough is covered with a light dusting of flour.
  • Kind of pinch the outside of the dough to create a rim.

  • Time to spread out the dough.
  • Don’t use a rolling pin, as that will just push all of the gases out of the dough. There are a lot of methods, but I basically just pick the dough up and hold the rim that I created in my hands like I’m holding a steering wheel very lightly.  Then, using gravity, I turn the dough in my hands until it gets to be about eight inches in diameter.

  • Once the dough gets a little bigger, I flip it onto the backs of my hands and continue to spread it out by spreading my fingers underneath the dough, which causes my fingers to push the dough out.

  • Once the dough gets to about 14 inches in diameter, I place it on a lightly floured pizza peel.
  • Add the garlic scape pesto.

  • Spread the mozzarella evenly over the pie.
  • Place the goat cheese on the pie.
  • Add the oiled kale to the pie.
  • Sprinkle with grana padano.
  • Sprinkle lightly with kosher salt.
  • Place onto pizza stone in preheated oven.
  • Bake for 5-7 minutes or until crust starts to brown (this one wasn’t as brown as I like it).
  • Remove pie from oven and place on a cooling rack for a few minutes (this ensures a crispy crust – if you just place the baked pizza on a cutting board or cutter pan, the retained heat will come out as steam and get trapped in the crust, causing it to go soggy)

Cut and enjoy!!

This entry was posted in Green Goddess, Pizza and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

